The first time DaxLueg on Heuberg mountain was ever mentioned dates back to the year 1350 where there was record of the “Dachslueg" or “Dachs Lueg“ (aka Badger Lueg). Allegedly, the name “Lueg” referred to the importance of caves, but the name could also be derived from the dialect verb “peep” (peer, to watch or observe) and perhaps that’s where the word "Dachluger" (Roofwatcher) comes from. Less commonly, the name could be translated to mean “The Badger peeking out of hiding.” The farmstead of Dax Lueg has always been the highest point of the Hallwanger municipal area and a good location to view the surrounding area.

In 1565, the “DaxLueg” estate was either purchased or acquired by exchange from the Archbishop’s land registrer by St. Peter’s Monastery under the leadership of Abbot Benedict Obergasser. A man named Hans Poschinger, the “Maier”, was managing the estate at that time.

In 1624 the property of St. Peter’s was enlarged when the surrounding forest was purchased. The house was completely rebuilt in 1669, and the next major reconstruction was carried out in 1928. On the Rupertusalm, the farm Taxluegg (as it was called and spelled circa 1900) hikers were already being served simple meals. Then, only a few years later, Matthias Freundlinger established a proper restaurant. In 1926 the farm disappeared and a new restaurant including hotel was established under the tenants Anna and Ferdinand Steinhuber.

In 1959 the house burned completely to the ground leaving only ashes. It was then rebuilt to its present form that you see today. In 1969 the hotel was closed due to water disposal problems and re-opened in 1996.

Since February 2013, Kurt and Andreas Schuber have been the new tenants of the restaurant and hotel “DaxLueg” and it’s our pleasure to welcome you!

 

Image12

Erstmals erwähnt wird Dax Lueg am Heuberg im Jahre 1350 "Dachslueg" bzw. "Dachs Lueg". Im Namen Lueg liegt angeblich noch die Bedeutung von Höhlen. Doch könnte der Name auch vom mundartlichen Verb "lugen" (spähen, beobachten) abgeleitet werden: Die Namensableitung könnte dann vom "Dachluger" kommen. Der Einzelhof Dax Lueg war immer schon der höchst gelegene Hof des Hallwanger Gemeindegebietes. Von diesem Platz konnte man also vielleicht gut das umliegende Gebiet beobachten. Selten heißt es auch, das der Name folgendermaßen übersetzt werden könnte: "Der Dachs, der aus dem Versteck späht".

Image12Im Jahre 1565 wurde das Gut Dax Lueg vom Stift St. Peter unter Abt Benedikt Obergasser angekauft bzw. im Tauschwege vom Urbar des Erzbischofes erworben. Ein gewisser Hans Poschinger war zu dieser Zeit dort "Maier", also Bewirtschafter des Gutes.

Im Jahre 1624 wurde der St. Petrische Besitz Dax Lueg durch den Ankauf eines Waldstückes vergrößert. Das Haus wurde im Jahre 1669 komplett neu aufgebaut, der nächste große Umbau erfolgte dann im Jahre 1928. Auf der Rupertusalm, beim Bauernhof Taxluegg (so die Bezeichnungen und und Schreibweisen um 1900) wurden schon um 1900 Ausflügler mit einfacher Kost versorgt. Schon wenige Jahre später richtete Matthias Freundlinger dann eine richtige Gastwirtschaft ein. 1926 verschwand der Bauernhof und ein neues Restaurant mit Pension entstand unter den Pächtern Anna und Ferdinand Steinhuber.

Ein Brand wütete im Jahre 1959 am Dax Lueg, der das Haus zur Gänze einäscherte. Das Haus wurde danach in jetziger Form wieder aufgebaut.